Microsoft and LinkedIn

News arrives that Microsoft is buying LinkedIn for a phenomenal sum. This is a rapid reaction; I’ll update it and add links later.

There will be plenty of comment. My own perspective is not just as a user (still an active account although I’m no longer undertaking consulting work). In days gone by, as a member of a CSC Leading Edge Forum study tour, I visited LinkedIn when they were still a start-up with the coke machine in the corner of the meeting room. Until then, I hadn’t got the point of their model. But then, I did, and I’ve been a user ever since.

I guess the aim of any start-up is either to make lots of money in their own right (which LinkedIn still hasn’t) or to get bought by a major. So that makes their backers’ investment a commercial success. What integration with Microsoft will mean remains to be seen …

Leave a Reply

