Error 404 – add a search!

Here in the snowy UK I was trying to check out the weather for the Derby area and found a broken link on the local Derby page of the BBC website. Not their fault; Google had delivered a page which is clearly marked “we’re no longer updating this page”. But I didn’t notice straight away, so I clicked the link and it failed.

But they have a really smart idea. The Error 404 page that came up included a site search box, so right there I could make another attempt to find what I wanted. And I did.

Great idea, BBC!

Leave a Reply

